Press Room

Please contact Tim Linville for all press inquiries, at (216) 398-9860 or tim@ceacisp.org.

News Releases

IRS NEWS FOR BUSINESS

May 4, 2017

May 2017

►UPCOMING WEBINARS

Small Business Week Webcast are now open for Registration

10-minute sessions  May 5th

May 5th

Business ID Theft

Session 1 – 11a.m. Eastern; 10a.m. Central; 9a.m. Mountain; 8a.m. Pacific; 5a.m. Hawaii

Session 2 – 2p.m. Eastern; 1p.m. Central; 12p.m. Mountain; 11a.m. Pacific; 8a.m. Hawaii

Register by sending your (1) Name (2) Email Address and (3) Session Date & Time to

Email:  SBSE.SL.Web.Conference.Team@irs.gov

Understanding Form 8300 – 75 minutes

(Report of Cash Payments Over $10,000 Received in a Trade or Business)

  • June 15, 2017 – 10 am Central; 9 am Mountain
  • Register & Attend: https://www.webcaster4.com/Webcast/Page/1148/20341
  • June 15, 2017 – 1 pm Central; 12 pm Mountain; *
  • Register & Attend:  https://www.webcaster4.com/Webcast/Page/1148/20342

*Closed captioning offered for afternoon web conferences ONLY.

See Webinars for Small Businesses for upcoming National and Local Webinars

Click HERE for videos recently posted to the IRS Video Portal.


 

12 CEA Members Make Crain's List Of Top Commercial Contractors in NE Ohio

Apr 21, 2017

Publised April 3, 2017 Crain's Cleveland Business

This list ranks commercial contractors in Cleveland and Northeast Ohio by local 2016 revenue. Each company listed also submitted local 2015 revenue, how many people they employ in Northeast Ohio and worldwide and information about the services they offer, the industries they serve and recent projects they've worked on. They also all submitted the name of their top local executive, an address, a website and a corporate phone number. Almost all companies reported their total 2016 revenue and the value of the contracts they won in 2016. 

  1. Continental Building Co.
  2. Donley's Inc.
  3. Drake Construction Co.
  4. Gilbane Building Co.
  5. Independence Construction
  6. Independence Excavating
  7. Infinity Construction Co.
  8. Precision Environmental Co.
  9. Rudolph Libbe Group
  10. Shook Construction Co.
  11. The Ruhlin Co.
  12. Turner Construction Co.

Read More

The Ohio Transportation Budget (HB 26) Passed

Apr 20, 2017

If you have any questions on these provisions or the bill itself, please contact Glen Shumate at CEA at glen@ceacisp.org.

The Ohio Transportation Budget (HB 26) passed the Ohio House, the Ohio Senate and was signed into law on March 31st by Governor Kasich.  The bill allocates approximately $7 billion over the next two years for Ohio.  It invests in 43 major projects, 446 bridge projects, 615 pavement projects and 356 safety projects over the next two years.

The Governor vetoed provisions dealing with:

Creating a Smart Transportation Action Advisory Team

Frequency of local bridge inspections (alternating of full and partial inspections)

A requirement that ODOT install interchanges on limited access highways every four miles in certain urban areas

Speed boat safety provisions (the veto takes provisions back to current law)

Some provisions of note that were contained in the legislation were:

Codification of the Ohio Bridge Partnership Program

The bill continues this program until FY 2019.  ODOT is required to work with counties and local jurisdictions to either pay the full cost of, or match local expenditures with regard to, the rehabilitation or reconstruction of selected county and municipal corporation bridges. ODOT plans to allocate $5 million per year for the program using.

Protection for employees by requiring contractors and subs to only provide the last four digits of their Social Security number when providing that info to a prevailing wage coordinator. 

Creation of a commercial vehicle registration pilot program for Clinton, Lucas, Montgomery, Franklin and Mahoning and Stark counties, to reduce fees for commercial cars with a gross vehicle weight of up to 78,000 pounds.

Exemption of Tow trucks for vehicle size and weight limits

Exempts, for two years, towing vehicles from size and weight limitations when the vehicle is: (1) engaged in the initial towing or removal of a wrecked or disabled motor vehicle from the site of an emergency on a public highway to the nearest storage facility; (2) en route to the site of an emergency on a public highway to tow or remove a wrecked or disabled motor vehicle; or (3) returning from delivering a wrecked or disabled motor vehicle to the nearest site where the vehicle can be brought into conformance with the statutory size and weight requirements, the nearest qualified repair facility, or the nearest storage facility.


 

Pages